Turnaround: The Music of Ornette Coleman - Dave Liebman Group

Turnaround: The Music of Ornette Coleman

Dave Liebman Group

  • Genre: Jazz
  • Release Date: 2010-09-01
  • Explicitness: notExplicit
  • Country: USA
  • Track Count: 10

  • ℗ 2010 Jazzwerkstatt


Title Artist Time
Enfant (feat. Vic Juris) Dave Liebman Group 4:19 USD 0.99
Turnaround (feat. Vic Juris) Dave Liebman Group 6:44 USD 0.99
Kathelin Gray (feat. Tony Mari Dave Liebman Group 6:35 USD 0.99
Bird Food (feat. Vic Juris & M Dave Liebman Group 5:43 USD 0.99
Lonely Woman Dave Liebman Group 6:42 USD 0.99
Cross Breeding Dave Liebman Group 3:55 USD 0.99
Face of the Bass / Beauty Is a Dave Liebman Group 8:09 USD 0.99
Una Muy Bonita (feat. Tony Mar Dave Liebman Group 7:15 USD 0.99
The Blessing (feat. Tony Marin Dave Liebman Group 5:57 USD 0.99
The Sky (feat. Marko Marcinko) Dave Liebman Group 4:57 USD 0.99


  • Harmonized

    By Mark Hodges
    Jazz saxophonist Dave Liebman brings a new twist to the music of Ornette Coleman with this collection of tunes culled from Coleman's early career. Liebman's contribution comes in the form of adding harmony to Coleman's melodic themes, bringing a different interpretation to the music as it was originally recorded. Another interesting aspect comes in the fact that Coleman was not an influence on Liebman's own personal style, so Liebman is able to approach the music with a freshness that may not otherwise be there if he had been an influence. Guitarist Vic Juris backs up Liebman on the album, and provides the backbone for the harmony play between the two musicians. Their teamwork is excellent and they manage to take Coleman's work to a completely new level in the process.